Table of Contents
This time I will share a simple ice cream recipe you can make at home from a recipe I got from one of the Youtube channels. The ingredients for making the ice cream in this recipe are mostly milk-based.
Methods of making ice cream and various variations of ice cream such as chocolate ice cream, durian ice cream, and other ice creams are basically the same. Ice cream is a frozen dessert made from dairy products such as cream with flavors and sweeteners. This ice cream mixture is then frozen by stirring while reducing the temperature to prevent the formation of large ice crystals.
Most of the ingredients in this simple ice cream recipe are made from milk, liquid milk, sweetened condensed milk, and powdered milk. Apart from milk, there is also gelatin. Gelatin functions as a protective colloid that aims to prevent the ice cream from separating quickly so that it remains chewy and to improve the texture of the ice cream.
There are several ways to make ice cream, this one method is quite unique because most of it uses milk as the basic ingredient. No need to worry if you don’t have an ice cream maker because this simple milk-based ice cream recipe only uses a mixer. Check out the recipe below.
Simple Ice Cream Recipe with Milk Based Ingredients
Gelatin is basically a chemical substance that has no color. This substance is a protein derivative compound derived from collagen fibers of connective tissue, skin, bone and cartilage which undergoes a hydrolysis process by an acid or alkaline process (Charley, 1982). Because it is made of collagen, eating gelatin has properties similar to gelatin, namely, it is colorless and if it dissolves it will be translucent. Gelatin is generally in powder form.
Several Types of Gelatin
The gelatin in circulation consists of two types, namely Gelatin type A (acid) and Gelatin type B (base). Type A gelatin is mostly made from young pork skin. The manufacturing process is fast, you just need to soak it in a hydrochloric acid solution for a day and then wash it to remove the salt and acid.
The next type of gelatin is type B gelatin. Type B gelatin is made from the bones and skins of livestock such as buffalo, cows, or goats. In contrast, type A gelatin, type B gelatin requires a rather long time in the manufacturing process. So don’t choose the wrong type of gelatin, choose halal-certified gelatin.
Make sure the Gelatin is Halal
I replace the gelatin that I use with sheet gelatin. I use 10 sheets weighing about 10 grams. Look for the halal one, my friend, Dapurkintamani. Here are some brands of powdered Gelatin that have been certified Halal, including GELITA, KALIMA, HALAL GELATINE, R&B.
- GELITA is an Australian product and already has an Australian and Kosher Halal Certificate .
- KALIMA is a local Indonesian product and already has the MUI Halal label.
- HALAL GELATINE is a Malaysian product and already has halal certificates from 3 countries, namely from Malaysia Halal Certificate , MUI Halal Certificate and Thailand Halal Certificate .
- R&B made of fish skin/bone.
If you buy gelatin at a cake shop, the gelatin has been repackaged by the shop in a smaller size, for example, 50 grams or 100 grams, because gelatin packaging is usually in large sizes (sacks), it is very important to ask the party. What brand is the gelatin shop, and is it halal-certified or not? Good luck.